The Faculty of Science is the largest in the University, with academic staff strength comprising of 49 Professors, 14 Readers, 34 Senior Lecturers and 81 other academic staff. In addition to various breakthroughs in research which are being compiled, the Faculty has produced three National Merit Award winners.

The first is Prof. O.S. Adegoke who retired from Geology Department many years ago. He was the Dean of the Faculty from 1975 to 1977. The second is Prof. O.O. Odeyemi, a Microbiologist who has recently concluded two-term tenure as The Rector of Osun State Polytechnic. Esa Oke.

The 2004 Merit award winner on Science is Prof. A.F. Oluwole who retired from Physics Department a few years ago. The Faculty has also produced a few Vice Chancellors. Prof. Eyo Okon of the Zoology department served as the Vice Chancellor of Cross River State University in Uyo in the 90s. Prof. Oke of Chemistry Department, a former Dean of Faculty, was the first Vice Chancellor of Samuel Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso (LAUTECH).

The current Vice Chancellor of this University (i.e. LAUTECH), Prof. M. Salau from our Physics Department has also served two terms as the Vice-Chancellor of LAUTECH. Prof. J.B. Aladekomo is currently the Vice Chancellor of Lead City University, one of the newly established private universities in the country. Recently, the immediate past Dean of the Faculty, Prof. M. A. Badejo, was appointed the pioneer Vice-Chancellor of Wesley University of Science and Technology. Various other Professors, too numerous to mention have also served the nation in various other capacities.