Category Archive: Uncategorized

Schedule of Faculty Statutory Meetings 2014/2015 Session

This is to inform you that the Dean has approved the underlisted schedule of meetings in the Faculty for the 2014/2015 academic session.

Faculty Board of Studies – Tuesday 21-04-2015

Faculty Board – Monday 18-05-2015

Faculty Board of Studies – Tuesday 25-06-2015

Faculty Board – Monday 06-07-2015

Faculty Review – Thursday 23-07-2015; Thursday 05-11-2015


Kindly keep the dates open

Thank you


O. D. Adagunodo (Mrs.)

Faculty Secretary

The Faculty Urgently needs an 18-Seater Bus


The Faculty of Science urgently needs an 18-Seater bus and hereby solicits support from our alumni all over the world in order to purchase the bus. This is to ease the runnings of its day-to-day activities. The total cost of the bus is about 4.8 million naira. For details, kindly contact the Dean, Prof. W. A. Muse – +234-803-401-2861 – or or Pay to

Access Bank, Ile-Ife

Account Name: Science Week OAU

Account No: 0034061187

Please note that the Faculty would appreciate if you can indicate your Department and the year you graduated whenever you make any payment to the account.

Thank you so very much for your contribution.

The Next Faculty Review – 17-03-2015

This is to inform members of the Faculty Review Panel that 17-03-2015 has been scheduled for the next meeting. Kindly attend and be punctual.


O. D. Adagunodo
Faculty Secretary

Faculty Board Meeting, Monday 09/03/2015

This is to inform you that the next meeting of the Faculty Board of Science has been scheduled to hold on Monday, 9th March, 2015 at 4.00 pm in the Lecture Theatre BOOB, Biological Sciences Building Complex.

Agenda and papers will be forwarded shortly.

Please be punctual

Thank you

O. D. Adagunodo (Mrs.)

Faculty Secretary

13th Faculty Seminar – Sustaining a Statistical Laboratory Collaboration at OAU

You are cordially invited to the 13th Faculty of Science Seminar titled, "Sustaining a Statistical Laboratory Collaboration at OAU" today 14th January, 2015.

Presenter: Professor Eric Vance (Director, Laboratory for Interdisciplinary Statistical Analysis (LISA), Virginia Tech, USA,

Venue: Biological Sciences Building (BOOC) Lecture Theatre

Time: 4.00 pm


Dr. Aderogba won the National Prize for Young Scientist in Chemical Sciences 2014

Dr Aderogba


Dr. M.A. Aderogba of the Department of Chemistry, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife won the National Prize for Young Scientist in Chemical Sciences -2014.

The Nigerian Young Academy (NYA) was inaugurated on August 30th , 2010 by the then President of the Nigerian Academy of Science, Prof. Oye Ibidapo-Obe. The   creation of the Nigerian Young Academy is expected to provide recognition for excellence and raise the profile of young researchers nationally.

Dr Aderogba research interest is mainly on isolation and characterization of antiradical (antioxidant), acetyl cholinesterase and alpha- glucosidase inhibitors from medicinal plants and marine algae that are used in the management of oxidative stress related diseases. He also works on medicinal plants that are used in infectious diseases. His work on isolated natural products contributes significantly to the chemistry of natural products of medicinal plants. He has published over forty articles in reputable local and international peer reviewed journals.

A New Vice-Dean resumes

Dr. B. Babatope from the Department of Physics and Physics Engineering who emerged as the winner for the position of the the Vice-Dean at the May 2014 Faculty Board meeting resumes today 02/06/2014. The Faculty wishes him a successful tenure.